In with the new regents

The Del Mar College Board of Regents is starting the new year with a new look. 

Elva Estrada was sworn in as a re-elected Del Mar College Regent for District 3 on Jan. 7. 

Estrada was out of town in December when other members were sworn in, allowing the Board of Regents to make a special arrangement for her. 

“First of all, I’d like to thank my God for giving me this wonderful opportunity to serve Del Mar College for six more years,” Estrada said. “Of course the voters of District 3 and my strong supporter, my husband.” 

Hector “Coach” Salinas was also sworn in over the break on Dec. 11 as a newly elected Regent at-large and Gabriel Rivas III was re-elected to represent District 1. 

Chairman Trey McCampbell resigned from the Board of Regents effective Dec. 31, 2018. 

McCampbell had been a Del Mar College Regent since 2004 and board chairman for the past 10 years. 

“I count my 14 years on the Board of Regents, and 10 years as Chair of the Board, as my most fulfilling service to our community,” McCampbell said in his resignation letter. 

With McCampbell’s departure, at-large Regent Carol A. Scott was elected to chairwoman, leaving a vacant position on the Board of Regents. 

Those interested seeking the position must be a resident of Texas for at least one year, part of the Del Mar College District for at least six months, and a registered voter. Potential candidates must turn in a letter of interest, a resume and about five reference letters showing their qualifications to the president’s office by mail or in person. 

The president’s office address is Del Mar College, 101 Baldwin Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78404-3897, and is located in the Heldenfels Administration Building on the East Campus in Room 133. 

Candidates must submit all information by 5 p.m. Jan. 31. Board members will interview applicants who get selected on a date to be determined. The individual chose will be sworn in on March 5 and will be on the board through 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *