Election bring changes to board

Hector “Coach” Salinas took home the Board of Regents At-Large position over former Board of Regent Guy Watts and current Regen Sandra Longoria Messbarger in the 2018 midterm election.

In the race for Del Mar Board of Regents, Gabe Rivas ran unopposed and kept his District 1 seat. Elva Estrada, who also ran unopposed, will keep her District 3 seat.

In the term years to come for Salinas in his At-Large position, he says he hopes to work with the other Regents to, “help the community grow and encourage students to see the opportunities offered to them by Del Mar.”

As the last ballots were counted on election night, the results were as follows:

In the race for United States Representative District 27, incumbent Michael Cloud, R, beat challenger Eric Holguin, D. Cloud secured 48.08 percent of the vote, or 44,846 votes, compared with Holguin’s 47.79 percent, or 44,575 votes, according to unofficial results

The race for mayor is heading to a runoff between Joe McComb, who secured 49.73 percent of the vote, or 36,113 votes, and Michael Hall, who secured 19.64 percent of the votes, or 14,260 votes.

In the Corpus Christi City Council races, four out of the five districts up for election will go to a runoff.

In District 1, incumbent Everett Roy will compete against Joy Miller, who beat Julian Firo by eight votes, according to unofficial results.

In District 2, incumbent Ben Molina will face Sylvia Campos.

In District 3, Roland Barrera will face Eric Cantu.

In District 4, Greg Smith won with 11,285 votes or 69.82 percent.

In District 5, Gil Hernandez and Paul Thurman will face off in the runoff election

In the At-Large City Council race, Paulette Guajardo (26.37 percent), Michael Hunter (23.75 percent) and Rudy Garza Jr. (18.73 percent) all won re-election.

In the Texas Senate race, incumbent Ted Cruz, R, beat challenger Beto O’Rourke, D. Cruz had 50.9 percent or the vote, or 4,244,204, and O’Rourke had 48.3 percent, or 4,024,777 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *