Journalism staff shines at TIPA conference

The Foghorn News staff won Best of Show and more than 20 other awards at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association conference over Spring Break.

The conference, held at the Omni Corpus Christi, brought together nearly 300 students and 29 schools.

“I consider this TIPA very successful. This is very good for the new shuffling around of the divisions and how it changed up. We competed against the best newspapers in Texas. I was very excited and proud of how hard everyone works every year,” said Robert Muilenburg, associate professor and journalism adviser.   

Participants competed in live contests for news writing, critical review, sports photography and other topics. Students also competed for awards based on work published in the previous year. 

Del Mar faced off against 10 other schools in its division, including four-year universities such as Rice and Texas A&M-Commerce.

The Foghorn News won 22 awards, including eight for first place. 

Foghorn News Managing Editor John Oliva won the Mike Warms Scholarship. 

“I was shocked when I heard my name called. I felt as if it was my ‘Oscar’ moment and I had to think of a speech right away, even though I just had to grab an envelope and take a picture. I’m very grateful for winning the scholarship, it’ll definitely help with finances in the fall,” Oliva said.

TIPA, the oldest state collegiate press association in the nation, was founded in 1909 at Baylor University and has grown into one of the largest and most respected collegiate groups in the country.

1st: Division 2 BEST OF SHOW – The Foghorn (Jan. 22 Issue)

1st : Matthew Tamez – D2 Interactive Graphic

1st: Cat Herndon – Cover Design Literary Magazine

1st: Josselyn Obregon – Spanish News Story

1st: Josselyn Obregon – Sports Action Photo

1st: Editorial – Staff

1st: Colby Farr – Feature Story

1st: In-Depth Multimedia – Staff

2nd: Cat Herndon – Feature Page Design

2nd: Jaylyn Garcia – Photo Story

2nd: Gabriella Ybarra – Feature Writing

2nd: Emily Jasso – Editorial Cartoon

3rd: Charlie Blalock – Breaking News Photo

3rd: Cover Design Newspaper – Staff

3rd: Cat Herndon – Website Design

3rd: In-Depth Reporting – Staff

HM: Cat Herndon – Overall Excellence Literary Magazine

HM: Overall Excellence Newspaper – The Foghorn

HM: Diana Hamilton – General News

HM: Headline – Staff

HM: Sam Gutierrez – Ad Design Static

HM: Elizabeth Acevedo – Television Advertising

John Oliva – Mike Warms Scholarship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *