Foghorn staff wins big awards at TIPA 2016

The Del Mar College Foghorn staff went to Dallas from March 30-April 2 for the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) conference and received 37 awards.

We wanted to post a few highlights from the conference and highlight the dedication of such a hard-working staff.

Here’s our list of winners:

  • The Foghorn won Best of Show and second place for Overall Excellence for the print edition, and received the Overall Excellence award and first place for Best Website Navigation. The Siren received honorable mention for Literary Magazine Overall Excellence. (Look for the 20th anniversary issue of The Siren on news racks later this month!)
  • Foghorn Editor-in-Chief Samantha Douty was named Editor of the Year, while Managing Editor Cayce Berryman was named Photojournalist of the Year. Both also won a slew of other awards.
  • Samantha Douty won first place for Single Subject Design, second place for the on-site Headline Writing contest, second place for on-site Newspaper Design, honorable mention for In-Depth Reporting and honorable mention for Information Graphic. Sam also won the Warms Scholarship for two-year students.
  • Cayce Berryman won first place for Best Audio Slideshow, second place for Literary Magazine Short Story, third place for Best Video Package, third place for News Photo, third place for Picture Story, honorable mention for Feature Photo and honorable mention for Illustration.
  • Cayce Berryman and Samantha Douty, as a team, won honorable mention for Sports Page Design and honorable mention for Photo Illustration.
  • Samantha Douty and Kira Hays won third place for Photo Illustration.
  • Samantha Douty and Rolando Ybarra Villarreal Jr. won honorable mention for Literary Magazine Story Package.
  • Web Editor Meagan Falcon won honorable mention for on-site Live News Video. 
  • Entertainment Editor Jonathan Garcia won honorable mention for Headline.
  • The Editorial Board (Samantha Douty, Cayce Berryman, Meagan Falcon and Jonathan Garcia) won honorable mention for Editorial Writing.
  • Veronica Barrera won first place for Feature Photo.
  • Veronica Barrera, Charles Gonzalez, A.J. Benavides, Amanda Breland and Gabriella Rodriguez won second place for Picture Story.
  • Antelmo Aguirre won first place for Editorial Cartoons.
  • Gabriel Myers won third place for on-site Radio Sports Writing.
  • Kaliegh Benck won first place for Literary Magazine Feature Photo, first place for Ad Design, honorable mention for Page One Design.
  • Kaliegh Benck, Marisa Sanchez and Melanee Gonzalez won second place for Literary Magazine Photo Essay.
  • Steven Martinez won honorable mention for Critical Review. Steven, who graduated last spring, also recently landed a job as a designer at the Caller-Times.
  • Rolando Ybarra Villarreal Jr. won third place for Literary Magazine Essay.
  • Delaina Whitlock won honorable mention for Literary Magazine Feature Photo.

Thanks for reading the Foghorn … we wouldn’t be the best if we didn’t also have the best readers!



The Foghorn staff poses for a group picture at TIPA 2016 in Dallas, Texas.

The Foghorn News also wouldn’t be as successful as it is today without the community viewership from DMC students to Corpus Christi residents wanting to find out what is going on at our lovely college.

Thank you.


The Foghorn Staff


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *