Journalists win 37 awards at state contest

The Foghorn staff ventured out to Dallas to compete in the Texas International Press Association conference March 31-April 2 and nearly dominated the competition, bringing back 37 awards plus a scholarship.

The awards included Best of Show for the print edition, Overall Excellence for, Editor of the Year, Photojournalist of the year and several other top honors.

“I think the awards that we won show a reflection of quality and consistency that we should be very proud to have here,” Foghorn adviser Robert Muilenburg said.

The Foghorn competed against several two- and four-year schools in Texas. The conference included contests both for work published during 2015, as well as several live on-site competitions.

“When we go to these competitions and put our work against all the others around the state we always do well,” Muilenburg said. All the editors work so hard throughout the year to create a product that is a service to the students, and they do a good job.” Muilenburg said of the Foghorn staff.


Samantha Douty was named Editor of the Year at TIPA 2016 in Dallas, Texas.

Cayce-MugCayce Berryman won Photojournalist of the Year at TIPA 2016 in Dallas, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *